ReviewTier

10 Best Pool Heat Pumps

Dive into the ultimate guide for pool heat pumps! Discover energy-efficient options that extend your swim season and save on costs. Find the perfect match for your pool needs and enjoy endless comfort.
Advertising Disclosure
Updated At Oct 6, 2026
1
Best Overall
Warmblu H18 Pool Heat Pump 60,000 BTU

Warmblu H18 Pool Heat Pump 60,000 BTU

High energy efficiency reduces electricity costs.

Smart inverter control for precise temperature settings.

Suitable for large pools up to 21,000 gallons.

9.8
Checked by ReviewTier
6
5% off
Swimming Pool Heater 12'x14'x48'

Swimming Pool Heater 12'x14'x48'

Efficient heating for consistent pool temperature.

Suitable for both above and inground pools.

Compact design fits various pool sizes.

8.5
Checked by ReviewTier
7
Popular
Della Omi Spark Pool Heat Pump

Della Omi Spark Pool Heat Pump

Energy-efficient heating for pool comfort.

Convenient smartphone control via WiFi.

Tested for reliable outdoor performance.

8.2
Checked by ReviewTier

Tired of Hunting for Deals?

Get the best daily discounts delivered straight to your inbox

Pool heat pumps: what to look for

A pool heat pump uses electricity to move heat from outdoor air into circulating pool water. Some products also provide cooling. Unlike a resistance heater, it does not create all of the heat directly from electricity, so its usefulness depends on the outdoor temperature, water temperature, humidity, pool size, circulation rate, insulation, wind exposure, pool cover, and desired swimming season.

The first question is whether the advertised output and efficiency have been independently tested. Look for the exact product in the AHRI Directory of Certified Product Performance for Heat Pump Pool Heaters and for ratings made under ANSI/AHRI 1160 conditions. A substantiated performance record identifies heating capacity in Btu/h, electrical input, and coefficient of performance (COP). COP is the heat delivered relative to electricity used. A headline such as “up to” a particular Btu/h or COP is not enough: the supplied reviews repeatedly found missing AHRI records, unexplained efficiency claims, or figures that changed between product pages and manuals.

Test conditions matter. Warm-air ratings can look much better than expected seasonal performance. Among the supplied products, some manuals reported substantially lower output and COP at 50°F or 59°F outdoor air than at 80°F. Buyers should compare capacity, input, COP, humidity, air temperature, water temperature, and whether the figure is a maximum, peak, or part-load result. Pool-size guidance is only a starting point; a covered pool in a mild climate places a different load on a heat pump than an uncovered, shaded, windy, or cold-weather pool.

Electrical safety is a separate question from efficiency. Look for a valid North American third-party listing for the exact product in UL Product iQ, Intertek’s ETL directory, or the CSA listing database. The certification record should identify the applicable safety standard, such as UL 1995 or UL/CSA 60335-2-40. FCC or California energy-compliance claims do not replace an equipment electrical-safety listing, and a listed plug does not necessarily establish certification of the complete heat pump.

The installation manual should clearly state voltage, circuit and breaker requirements, disconnect location, grounding, bonding, GFCI requirements, water flow, clearances, drainage, airflow, and professional-installation requirements. Pool equipment combines electricity, water, refrigerant, and outdoor exposure; a plug-in format does not automatically make installation simple. Also check water-chemistry limits and whether the exchanger, fittings, and warranty are suitable for chlorine, bromine, salt, and the pool’s pH. Titanium exchangers were commonly claimed or documented in the supplied products, but a titanium claim alone does not establish allowable chemistry limits.

Finally, verify the refrigerant type and charge, defrost and freeze behavior, low-ambient output, service instructions, parts access, warranty, and authorized support. Refrigerant work should follow EPA Section 608 requirements. Repeated category-wide cautions in the supplied reviews include the absence of exact-model AHRI and safety-listing records, incomplete code-ready installation information, inconsistent refrigerant or warranty documentation, and insufficient low-temperature data. Several products were specifically unsuitable for DIY installation, cold-climate expectations, or use without qualified electrical and pool professionals. No product should be treated as a simple plug-and-play appliance beside a pool without checking the delivered nameplate, manual, local code, grounding, bonding, GFCI, disconnect, water flow, drainage, and clearances.

Integrity

For this category, health and ecological performance depend on more than a claimed Btu rating. Safe installation, pool-water compatibility, low-temperature behavior, electricity use, refrigerant stewardship, and the availability of repair support all affect the product’s real-world impact. The supplied scores show meaningful differences in documentation quality, but no product received independently verified performance and complete electrical-safety evidence across every area.

HHealth & Safety

Protection against shock, overheating, pressure, and freeze damage

This measures safeguards for low water flow, high refrigerant pressure, overheating, freezing, electrical faults, and unsafe restart. They matter because a heat pump sits in a wet pool system and can operate in cold outdoor conditions. Higher-scoring products documented several specific fault responses, such as flow, pressure, temperature, freeze, or defrost controls; lower-scoring products offered only general protection claims or incomplete manuals.

Safe installation readiness

This measures whether the product tells an installer how to size the circuit, provide overcurrent protection and a disconnect, ground and bond the equipment, use GFCI protection where required, manage clearances and drainage, and meet local pool and electrical codes. Higher scores went to products with detailed voltage, ampacity, bonding, clearance, flow, and drainage instructions. Low scores reflected missing or confusing electrical guidance.

Resistance to pool chemicals and saltwater corrosion

This measures whether the exchanger, fittings, flow requirements, and warranty fit the pool’s chlorine, bromine, salt, and pH conditions. Corrosion can cause leaks, poor heat transfer, and premature failure. Higher-scoring products documented titanium exchangers and some saltwater guidance; lower-scoring products relied on a material claim without chemistry limits, warranty details, or clear compatibility for the delivered unit.

EEvidence

Independently verified heating output and efficiency

This measures whether the exact product’s Btu/h capacity, electrical input, and COP are certified under ANSI/AHRI 1160 conditions and listed in the AHRI directory. It is the clearest way to distinguish tested performance from seller claims. The supplied scores were generally low to moderate because no exact-model AHRI record was located; the better-scoring products at least supplied condition-rated manufacturer tables.

Independently listed electrical and fire safety

This measures whether the exact outdoor electrically powered unit has a traceable UL, ETL, or CSA listing under an applicable safety standard. The listing should cover the complete product, not merely a plug or electronic component. Higher scores reflected manufacturer documentation that named a safety certification or more complete installation material, but the reviews repeatedly noted that an exact public listing record was not independently located.

Honest, usable performance claims

This measures whether Btu/h, COP, noise, operating range, pool-size guidance, and savings claims state test conditions and limitations. Higher scores went to products with manuals showing warm- and cool-weather figures and clear context, particularly the more detailed installed-appliance documentation. Lower scores reflected “up to” ratings, unexplained savings, conflicting capacities, or claims that did not match the manual.

Clean recall and compliance record

This measures whether the exact product, manufacturer, or importer has an identifiable U.S. recall, enforcement, or energy-compliance issue. A high score means no unresolved problem was found in the reviewed records, not that the product is certified safe. Most supplied products scored in a relatively narrow range because no exact recall or enforcement action was located, while missing certification evidence remained a separate concern.

EEcology

Performance in the buyer’s actual weather

This measures disclosed capacity, COP, operating limits, and defrost behavior at cooler outdoor temperatures. Heat pumps can lose output as air gets colder, so a warm-weather rating may not support a shoulder-season or winter expectation. Higher-scoring products provided manufacturer tables at conditions such as 50°F or 59°F and described defrost. Lower-scoring products supplied only headline ratings or inconsistent temperature limits.

Low electricity use for delivered pool heat

This measures verified COP and auxiliary or standby electricity in relation to delivered heat, together with sizing guidance that avoids chronic undersizing. Higher scores among the supplied products reflected condition-rated performance tables and clearer efficiency context, although no exact-model AHRI result was located for the products reviewed. Lower scores reflected unexplained COP or savings percentages, conflicting figures, or no input and seasonal-use information.

Lower-impact refrigerant and responsible servicing

This measures disclosure of refrigerant type and charge, climate impact, regulatory acceptability, leak prevention, and qualified recovery and service requirements. Higher-scoring products identified R32 and its charge and described qualified servicing, while lower-scoring products disclosed conflicting refrigerants or nothing at all. R32 has lower climate impact than many older HFCs but is mildly flammable; R410A avoids ozone depletion but has high climate impact.

Long service life and repair support

This measures corrosion-resistant construction, parts and service information, realistic warranty coverage, and support for repair rather than replacement. Higher scores reflected documented warranties, durable exchanger materials, or more usable service information. Lower scores reflected short or conflicting warranty terms, no parts catalog, no authorized-service network, or unclear repair documentation. A product that cannot be serviced or repaired can create avoidable material waste and refrigerant losses.

Full reviews

Warmblu H18 Pool Heat Pump 60,000 BTU
#1 - Best Overall

Warmblu H18 Pool Heat Pump 60,000 BTU

Buyer Score 98/100Integrity Score 70/100WARMBLU

Overview

This is a 220-240V air-source pool heat pump intended for above-ground or in-ground pools. The manufacturer markets it for pools up to 21,000 gallons, with app and touch-panel control. Its manual identifies a titanium tube water-side heat exchanger, 28.6 gpm stated water flow, a 46 to 104 F heating setpoint range, and a 110-pound net weight. The exact-product manual provides manufacturer-stated capacity tables, 16,378 to 65,000 Btu/h at 80 F air and 12,966 to 52,888 Btu/h at 50 F air, both with 80 F water and 63 percent relative humidity. These figures have not been independently verified in the AHRI directory. The retail claim of COP up to 16 conflicts with the manual, which lists COP ranges of 6.60 to 12.00 at 80 F air and 4.8 to 7.6 at 50 F air.

What works

  • The manufacturer provides output and COP ranges at both 80 F and 50 F outdoor conditions, which is more useful than a single warm-weather capacity figure.
  • The manual specifies a titanium tube water-side heat exchanger, a relevant manufacturer-stated corrosion-resistance feature for chemically treated pool water.
  • Documented protections include water-flow, high-pressure, low-pressure, low-ambient-temperature, and voltage-fault responses.
  • The manual describes automatic defrost operation and states a 5 to 110 F outdoor operating range.

What does not

  • No independent AHRI performance certification for this exact product was located, so the stated capacity and efficiency remain manufacturer data.
  • The advertised COP up to 16 is inconsistent with the exact-product manual's highest listed COP of 12.00 under its stated 80 F air test condition.
  • The product page says below 50 dB, while the manual lists 45 to 56 dB(A), so quiet-operation expectations need caution.
  • No valid UL, ETL, or CSA listing record for the exact unit was located. The manual's electrical table is also poorly rendered, leaving circuit and conductor details insufficiently clear.
  • The manual calls the refrigerant flammable and gives a 25.4-ounce charge, but does not clearly identify the refrigerant type.

Who is it for

This product suits an owner with a roughly mid-size pool who has a qualified pool and electrical installer, an outdoor equipment pad, and the patience to heat gradually rather than expect gas-heater speed. It is most appropriate where pool use occurs mainly in mild conditions and a thermal cover can reduce heat loss. The manufacturer provides 50 F and 80 F performance tables, so an installer can use those stated conditions as a starting point for a site-specific load calculation and electrical plan.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to anyone who needs independently certified heating output, COP, or North American electrical-safety listing documentation before installation. It also is a poor fit for do-it-yourself electrical work, installations without a dedicated properly protected outdoor circuit, or enclosed locations. Households seeking dependable cold-weather heating should not rely on the warm-weather COP claim, because the manual shows lower output and efficiency at 50 F air and the actual performance still lacks third-party verification.

Integrity

The strongest safety documentation is manufacturer-provided rather than independently certified. The manual describes flow-switch monitoring, high- and low-pressure protection, low-temperature shutdown behavior, voltage protection, fault alarms, and automatic defrost. It also instructs use of a dedicated branch circuit and outdoor-rated wiring. A licensed installer should still determine grounding, bonding, disconnect, overcurrent protection, and GFCI requirements under local pool and electrical rules. For durability, the manual specifies a titanium water-side exchanger, which is commonly selected for resistance to pool-water corrosion, but it does not provide a detailed chemistry range or clear saltwater warranty terms. The refrigerant section needs improvement. It warns that the refrigerant is flammable and says only that it is an R refrigerant, without clearly naming it. Servicing should therefore be limited to qualified personnel using the exact unit nameplate information. No CPSC recall or FTC action was located in the checked public records, but no independent safety listing or AHRI certification was found for this exact product.

Varpoolfaye 30000 BTU Pool Heat Pump WiFi Control
#2 - Hot Deal

Varpoolfaye 30000 BTU Pool Heat Pump WiFi Control

Buyer Score 95/100Integrity Score 74/100Varpoolfaye

Overview

This is a 110-120V air-source pool heat pump for above-ground or inground pools, marketed for pools up to 8,000 gallons. It heats and cools circulating pool water through a titanium water-side heat exchanger, requires about 20 gpm water flow, and has 1.5-inch plumbing connections. The supplied documentation specifies a 35 by 14 by 22 inch outdoor unit, a 15 A maximum current, WiFi scheduling, and a 52 dB(A) noise claim. The manufacturer-stated heating rating is 30,000 Btu/h with COP 5.8 at 80°F air, 80°F water, and 63% relative humidity. It also states 16,400 Btu/h and COP 3.9 at 50°F air under the same water and humidity conditions. These figures are more usable than an unexplained peak claim, but no exact-model AHRI certification record was located. No exact-model UL, ETL, or CSA electrical safety listing record was located either.

What works

  • The documentation gives both warm-weather and 50°F heating figures, rather than presenting only one peak capacity claim.
  • Manufacturer documentation specifies titanium water-side heat exchange and freshwater and saltwater compatibility.
  • The controller documentation identifies flow-switch, refrigerant overheat, high-pressure, and water-outlet overheat protections.
  • The manual includes outdoor placement, drainage, clearance, grounding, disconnect, waterproof-outlet, and freeze-draining instructions.

What does not

  • No AHRI directory certification was located for the exact product, so the stated output, electrical input, and COP remain manufacturer-stated rather than independently certified.
  • No valid exact-product UL, ETL, or CSA listing record was located, leaving third-party electrical and fire safety verification unconfirmed.
  • Installation guidance does not clearly specify a dedicated circuit, breaker or fuse rating, GFCI requirements, bonding details, or local code verification.
  • It uses 22.9 ounces of R410A, an HFC refrigerant. The documentation does not provide leak-prevention, recovery, or qualified-service instructions.
  • A one-year retailer-stated warranty was found, but no public parts catalog, authorized service network, or detailed repair policy was located.

Who is it for

This product fits an owner of a modest above-ground or inground pool who has an outdoor location with good airflow, a compatible circulation pump capable of the stated flow, and a qualified pool or electrical installer available. Its documented 50°F performance figure is useful for a shoulder-season user who understands that output drops substantially in cool weather. It also suits a saltwater-pool owner only where the installer confirms compatibility of the rest of the plumbing and local electrical requirements.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to households that need independently certified heating output or a confirmed North American electrical safety listing before installing powered equipment near a pool. It is also a poor fit for installation locations without a weather-protected receptacle, proper grounding, accessible disconnect, drainage, or required code protections. Buyers expecting rapid cold-weather heating, dependable operation below freezing without winterization, or assured access to replacement parts and refrigerant service documentation should not rely on the available records alone.

Integrity

The available exact-product manual describes meaningful operating protections, including water-flow, refrigerant-outlet overheat, high-pressure, and water-outlet overheat fault codes. It also directs outdoor installation, grounding, an accessible disconnect, an IPX6-rated protected outdoor socket, and draining the water circuit during freezing conditions. Those are manufacturer instructions, not third-party safety certification. Searches did not locate a matching UL, ETL, or CSA listing record. The water-side exchanger is identified as titanium and is marketed for fresh and saltwater pools, which can help resist normal pool-water corrosion when chemistry and flow remain within the unit's requirements. The unit contains 22.9 ounces of R410A. Refrigerant release during service or disposal must be handled under EPA Section 608 requirements, but the available documentation gives little detail on leak prevention, recovery, service parts, or authorized repair support. No exact-product CPSC recall was located.

Varpoolfaye 35100 BTU Electric Pool Heater
#3

Varpoolfaye 35100 BTU Electric Pool Heater

Buyer Score 93/100Integrity Score 66/100Varpoolfaye

Overview

This is a 220V air-source pool heat pump intended to add heat or cooling through a pool’s circulation plumbing. The available product documentation describes 1.5-inch water fittings, WiFi control through the Smart Life app, a stated 59°F to 104°F heating setpoint range, and a stated 45°F to 86°F cooling range. It is intended for outdoor installation with a running filtration pump. The defining issue is evidence quality. A third-party-hosted manual matching this product’s name reports 35,100 BTU per hour, a COP of 6.5, and pools up to 10,000 gallons, but these are manufacturer-stated figures, not AHRI-certified ratings. Other public manuals carry the same model name while reporting 58,000, 65,000, or 140,000 BTU capacities. That unresolved conflict makes the advertised capacity, pool-size guidance, dimensions, and efficiency claims unsuitable for precise sizing.

What works

  • Manufacturer documentation describes both heating and cooling modes, plus WiFi temperature and schedule control.
  • The available instructions call for 220V power, grounding, adequate airflow, secure plumbing, and qualified electrical installation.
  • Documentation describes 1.5-inch plumbing adapters, which can suit common pool circulation layouts.

What does not

  • No exact-product AHRI certification record was independently located for the stated BTU output, electrical input, or COP.
  • No exact-product UL, ETL, or CSA electrical safety listing could be independently verified in the searched North American certification registers.
  • Public documents using the same product model name give sharply conflicting capacities, from 35,100 to 140,000 BTU, which is a material claim inconsistency.
  • The available instructions do not provide a U.S.-specific circuit ampacity, breaker size, disconnect specification, bonding detail, refrigerant information, low-ambient output table, or defrost specification.
  • Saltwater compatibility, water-chemistry limits, warranty terms, replacement parts, and service support were not independently documented.

Who is it for

This product is most suited to a pool owner who already has a qualified pool and electrical professional available, uses a 220V outdoor circuit, and can confirm the unit’s installed nameplate data before work begins. It is better matched to a temperate-season pool where the owner accepts manufacturer-stated heating and cooling figures as preliminary information, rather than as a final sizing basis. The installer should verify water flow, plumbing adapters, clearances, electrical protection, grounding, bonding, and local inspection requirements.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to buyers who need a documented capacity for a large pool, a cold-weather extension of the swim season, or a tightly calculated operating-cost estimate. Do not rely on the published 10,000-gallon guidance alone because public documents tied to the same product name report incompatible capacities. It is also unsuitable for households without access to licensed electrical and pool installation support, or for saltwater and chemically demanding pools until heat-exchanger material, permitted water chemistry, and warranty coverage are confirmed in writing.

Integrity

No product-specific AHRI performance certification was located, so the stated COP of 6.5 and 35,100 BTU output remain manufacturer-stated rather than independently confirmed. This matters because heat-pump output and efficiency vary strongly with air temperature, water temperature, humidity, water flow, and defrost operation. No extended low-temperature performance or defrost data was found. No exact-product UL, ETL, or CSA listing was independently verified. The available instructions advise grounding, ventilation, secure water connections, and qualified installation, but do not provide enough U.S.-specific electrical design detail to replace a licensed installer’s code review. No CPSC recall or product safety warning for Varpoolfaye was located in the searched records. Refrigerant type and charge, saltwater limits, corrosion warranty, parts availability, and recovery or service instructions were not independently documented, limiting assessment of leakage risk and end-of-life stewardship.

Oibath Full Inverter Pool Heat Pump
#4

Oibath Full Inverter Pool Heat Pump

Buyer Score 88/100Integrity Score 67/100Oibath

Overview

This is a compact, top-discharge electric pool heat pump sold for above-ground, in-ground, and indoor pools. The product page describes a 35,000 Btu heating capacity, mobile app control, a titanium-tube water-side heat exchanger in a PVC shell, and a 19.09 by 19.09 by 27.16 inch enclosure. Those are manufacturer-stated specifications, not independently certified performance figures. There is a material identity problem in the available documentation. The model number supplied with this product is listed by GRAT's technical site as a much larger 14 to 40 kW, 220 to 240 V, 50 Hz residential heat pump, rather than a 35,000 Btu pool unit. The seller page also says both 220 to 240 V and standard-outlet power. No exact-model AHRI certification, North American electrical listing, installation manual, or independently verified pool-heater performance record was located.

What works

  • Manufacturer states a titanium water-side heat exchanger with a PVC shell, a relevant corrosion-resistant configuration for treated pool water.
  • Manufacturer states app-based WiFi temperature monitoring and scheduling, which can reduce unnecessary manual adjustments.
  • Manufacturer states a 19.4°F to 109.4°F outdoor operating range and automatic defrost capability.
  • The seller publishes a one-year warranty and a 30-day unused-item return policy.

What does not

  • The supplied model number conflicts with the advertised capacity and electrical context in the seller materials. This is a documentation contradiction, not merely missing data.
  • No exact-product AHRI listing was located, so the 35,000 Btu output, electrical draw, COP, and 48 dB claim remain unverified.
  • No valid UL, ETL, or CSA listing for the exact product was located in the searched North American certification resources.
  • No exact-product installation or service manual was located. Circuit protection, disconnect, bonding, grounding, GFCI, drainage, flow, and pressure requirements cannot be confirmed.
  • The manufacturer does not publish refrigerant charge, replacement-parts documentation, or an authorized service network for this pool unit.

Who is it for

This product is most suited to an owner of a small pool who already has a qualified pool and electrical contractor involved, can inspect the delivered nameplate before installation, and can obtain the actual installation manual from the seller. The stated titanium water-side exchanger may suit a chlorine or saltwater pool if the installer confirms the chemistry limits, flow requirements, electrical frequency, and safety listing on the delivered unit. It is better matched to mild-season use than to an owner relying on independently verified cold-weather capacity.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to a household that needs documented North American electrical certification before connecting equipment near a pool. It is also unsuitable for a do-it-yourself installation, for a property with only ordinary 120 V receptacle service, or for buyers who need confirmed breaker, disconnect, GFCI, bonding, and grounding instructions. Do not treat the stated 19.4°F operating limit as proof of useful winter pool heating. Buyers needing predictable capacity, electricity use, or repair support should require exact-model documentation first.

Integrity

The water-side construction is the clearest positive disclosure. GRAT states that this product uses a titanium-tube heat exchanger in a PVC shell, which is a corrosion-resistant arrangement for chemically treated pool water. That claim is manufacturer-stated and does not replace confirmation of acceptable sanitizer, salt, pH, water-flow, or pressure limits. The supplied model number creates more important safety and environmental uncertainty. GRAT's technical site identifies that model as a 50 Hz, R32 residential heat-pump model with a much larger rated capacity range. R32 has lower climate impact than many older HFC refrigerants, but EPA classifies it as mildly flammable and subject to use conditions. The product materials do not disclose charge quantity, leak procedures, service instructions, or a verified safety listing. Refrigerant work should therefore be limited to EPA-certified technicians. No exact-product CPSC recall or FTC enforcement record was located in the searches performed.

Swimming Pool Heater 12'x14'x48'
#6

Swimming Pool Heater 12'x14'x48'

Buyer Score 85/100Integrity Score 69/100AQUASTRONG

Overview

The AQUASTRONG HEX016 is a 115V electric pool heat pump for above-ground pools and small in-ground circulation systems. It is sold for pools up to 5,000 gallons, with 1.25-inch and 1.5-inch hose connections. The manufacturer states a 16,000 BTU/h heating capacity at 80°F air, 80°F water, and 80 percent relative humidity. Its manual also lists 10,440 BTU/h and a COP of 4.06 at 59°F air, 80°F water, and 70 percent humidity. The manufacturer identifies a titanium water-side heat exchanger, R32 refrigerant, heating and cooling modes, an RCD adapter, and automatic flow checking. These are manufacturer-documented specifications, not independently certified performance figures. No exact-product AHRI performance certification or North American third-party electrical listing could be independently verified in the searched official directories.

What works

  • The manual provides warm-weather and cooler-weather capacity and COP figures, rather than only one headline output figure.
  • Documented safeguards include an RCD adapter, grounding instructions, water-flow checking, a three-minute restart delay, anti-frost operation, and ambient-temperature fault codes.
  • The manufacturer specifies a titanium heat exchanger, a useful material claim for routine pool-water exposure.
  • The manual gives placement clearances, hose sizes, operating flow guidance, drainage advice, and seasonal storage instructions.
  • A two-year warranty is documented, with a third year available after timely registration.

What does not

  • No AHRI certification for the exact product was found, so its stated heating capacity, electrical input, and COP remain manufacturer claims.
  • No valid exact-product UL, ETL, or CSA listing record was independently verified, which leaves the electrical safety certification status unresolved.
  • The documentation conflicts on low-temperature operation. One table gives a 19°F minimum, while the error-code section gives 23°F, and winter storage is still recommended.
  • The installation instructions do not state a required circuit rating, breaker size, disconnect specification, bonding details, or local GFCI compliance path for a U.S. pool installation.
  • Titanium construction is stated, but the available documentation does not provide saltwater limits, sanitizer limits, pH limits, or a detailed replacement-parts catalog.

Who is it for

This product suits an owner of a covered above-ground pool or small plunge pool, roughly within the manufacturer’s 5,000-gallon guidance, who wants a compact 115V heat-pump format and can maintain the required water circulation. It is more appropriate for mild-weather season extension than for rapid recovery or cold-climate heating. The owner should have a qualified pool or electrical professional confirm the outlet, circuit, grounding, bonding, clearances, drainage, and local inspection requirements before installation.

Who is it not for

It is not well suited to large pools, uncovered pools, windy sites, or households expecting dependable heating through cold weather. The manufacturer’s output falls at cooler air conditions, and its own documents conflict on the lowest operating temperature. It is also unsuitable for an installation where a qualified person cannot verify code-compliant electrical protection and pool bonding. Buyers needing independently certified capacity, COP, or a verified UL, ETL, or CSA safety listing should use equipment with those records available.

Integrity

The manual documents several practical protections, including an RCD adapter, grounded-power requirement, independent switch, water-flow monitoring, delayed restart, anti-frost mode, and temperature-related fault codes. It also directs users to keep the unit clear of standing water, service it through qualified technicians, and drain and store it during extended winter shutdowns. These are useful safeguards, though they are not a substitute for a verified third-party product safety listing or local code review. The manufacturer identifies R32 refrigerant and a titanium heat exchanger. R32 has a lower global-warming impact than many older refrigerants, but it is mildly flammable and should be serviced and recovered by appropriately qualified technicians. The available documentation does not disclose refrigerant charge, detailed service procedures, saltwater and sanitizer limits, or replacement-parts availability. No exact-product recall or enforcement record was identified in the searched U.S. sources.

Della Omi Spark Pool Heat Pump
#7

Della Omi Spark Pool Heat Pump

Buyer Score 82/100Integrity Score 72/100Della

Overview

This is a compact, 110-120 V air-source pool heat pump for above-ground and portable pools. It heats or cools circulating pool water through 1.25 to 1.5 inch hose connections and requires a separate filter pump. The manufacturer lists 21,000 BTU/h maximum heating capacity, 1.25 kW rated input, 480 to 600 GPH water flow, WiFi controls, and a titanium heat exchanger. Its manual gives useful condition-specific performance data. It lists 21,160 BTU/h and COP 4.97 at 80.6°F air, 80% relative humidity, and 80°F entering water, but only 6,180 BTU/h at 50°F air. Those are manufacturer-published figures, not independently confirmed through an AHRI directory record. The product page and manual also conflict on outdoor pool volume guidance, so pool sizing should be treated cautiously.

What works

  • The exact-model manual publishes heating output, power input, COP, and test conditions at both warm and 50°F outdoor conditions.
  • The manual documents a grounded LCDI plug test, pool bonding with minimum #6 AWG bare copper, water-flow fault detection, high-pressure fault detection, ambient-limit protection, and a three-minute restart delay.
  • Manufacturer documentation specifies R32 refrigerant charge, 10.58 ounces, GWP of 675, and A2L mildly flammable refrigerant precautions.
  • The manufacturer states a titanium heat exchanger and offers a conditional registered 10-year compressor and heat-exchanger warranty.

What does not

  • No matching independent AHRI performance certification or UL, ETL, or CSA safety-listing record was located for this exact product. The published output and safety information therefore remains manufacturer-stated.
  • The outdoor pool-size guidance is inconsistent. The product page says up to 4,700 gallons without a cover and 7,000 gallons with one, while the manual lists substantially smaller outdoor ranges.
  • The manual requires manual defrost activation and shows sharply lower rated output at 50°F. It does not provide a full low-ambient performance table or describe automatic defrost behavior.
  • Titanium construction is claimed, but the available documentation does not set chlorine, salt, bromine, pH, or sanitizer limits for the water circuit.
  • The warranty is conditional on registration and, in several cases, leaves shipping costs with the owner. A replacement-parts catalog and authorized-service locator were not located.

Who is it for

This product suits an owner of a small, above-ground or portable pool who has a properly grounded 110-120 V outlet, a compatible filter pump, and the ability to install the required pool bonding conductor. It is most appropriate in mild shoulder-season weather, especially for a covered pool. The manufacturer’s own revised guidance places the covered outdoor maximum at 7,000 gallons, but the conflicting manual guidance means buyers should favor the smaller end of the stated range or obtain written sizing confirmation for their pool, climate, and desired warm-up time.

Who is it not for

It is not appropriate for in-ground pools requiring rigid PVC piping, because the manual specifically says not to use it for that application. It also is a poor fit for large, uncovered, windy, or cold-climate pools, where the disclosed 50°F output is far below the warm-weather rating. Households unable to provide proper grounding, pool bonding, drainage, outdoor clearances, and direct wall-outlet connection should not use it. Buyers requiring independently verified AHRI performance or independently listed electrical safety should select a product with those records.

Integrity

The manual contains meaningful installation safeguards. It calls for direct connection to a grounded three-prong wall outlet, elevated plug and outlet locations away from standing water, bonding to the pool grid with at least #6 AWG bare copper, specified outdoor clearances, and no extension cords. It also documents water-flow and high-pressure fault detection, plus a restart delay. However, an independent North American electrical safety listing for this exact product was not located, so these features should not be mistaken for third-party certification. The refrigerant is disclosed as R32, 10.58 ounces, with a stated GWP of 675. EPA classifies HFC-32 as an A2L refrigerant and lists it as acceptable with use conditions for certain heat-pump applications. The manual correctly treats it as mildly flammable and directs leak inspection and qualified HVAC repair. It also advises draining water before winter storage. Titanium heat-exchanger and long compressor coverage claims may support service life, but saltwater and pool-chemistry limits are not published.

TURBRO Beluga B33V Pool Heat Pump
#8

TURBRO Beluga B33V Pool Heat Pump

Buyer Score 80/100Integrity Score 72/100TURBRO

Overview

This is a 120 V plug-in, air-source pool heat pump for in-ground or above-ground pools, with a manufacturer-stated maximum pool size of 10,000 gallons. It requires a separately supplied circulation pump, hard plumbing, 2-inch water connections, and a 20 A minimum breaker. The manual specifies 17.92 GPM rated water flow and an R32 refrigerant charge of 1.59 lb. TURBRO documents a maximum 32,412 Btu/h and COP up to 15.8 at 80°F air, 80 percent humidity, and 80°F water. It also publishes a more useful cooler-condition figure of 24,453 Btu/h and COP up to 7.6 at 59°F air, 70 percent humidity, and 80°F water. These are manufacturer-stated figures, not an independently located AHRI certification. The published warranty information also conflicts, with the product page stating two years on the unit and five on the compressor while the manual states one year plus a registration extension.

What works

  • The manual publishes both warm-weather and 59°F performance conditions, making seasonal capacity limits more visible than a peak Btu figure alone.
  • The 120 V model uses a plug with reset and test functions, and the manual says not to use it if its test fails.
  • Documented protections include water-flow, high-pressure, low-pressure, exhaust-temperature, sensor, fan, and freeze-operation fault indications.
  • The manual identifies a titanium water-side heat exchanger, R32 refrigerant, a 1.59 lb charge, required air clearances, and rated water flow.

What does not

  • No exact-model AHRI directory record or certificate was located, so heating capacity, electrical input, and COP remain manufacturer-stated rather than independently verified.
  • No exact-model UL, ETL, or CSA product listing record was located in the searched certification sources. A plug safety device is not a substitute for confirming whole-product listing acceptance with the local inspector.
  • The manufacturer warranty information is inconsistent. The current product page promises longer coverage than the exact-model manual documents.
  • The manual identifies titanium but does not provide explicit saltwater compatibility, sanitizer, pH, hardness, or chloride limits. Buyers with salt systems need written confirmation before installation.
  • The unit may operate down to 5°F outdoor air, but published output and COP are only provided down to 59°F, so colder-weather heating capacity is not quantified.

Who is it for

This product suits an owner of a properly plumbed, non-inflatable pool within the manufacturer’s 10,000-gallon guidance who has a dedicated 120 V, 20 A outdoor circuit and can provide the required circulation pump, hard-pipe connection, drainage, base anchoring, and clearances. It is most appropriate for mild-season temperature maintenance, where the disclosed 59°F performance data can inform expectations. It also suits a buyer who values app control, heating and cooling modes, and a plug-mounted testable RCD, while arranging qualified installation and annual refrigerant-system inspection.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to inflatable or low-pressure pools, which TURBRO expressly excludes. It is also a poor fit for buyers who need an independently verified AHRI performance certificate or a publicly verifiable North American whole-product safety listing before a permit or inspection. Avoid treating the 10,000-gallon figure as universal sizing for cold, windy, uninsulated, or frequently uncovered pools. Buyers using saltwater or unusual sanitizer programs should not proceed without written chemistry limits, and cold-climate users should seek a unit with quantified output below 59°F.

Integrity

The manual documents meaningful operational safeguards. These include a testable reset and test plug, water-flow monitoring, high and low refrigerant-pressure fault detection, exhaust-temperature fault detection, freeze-operation indication, and defrost operation. It specifies a 20 A minimum breaker, drainage, a solid anchored base, ventilation clearances, and yearly checks of wiring, earthing, pressure, and refrigerant. Installation still needs to meet local pool and electrical requirements, and no independently searchable whole-product safety listing was located. The product uses R32, with the 1.59 lb charge disclosed. R32 has a global-warming potential of 675 and is classified A2L, meaning lower climate impact than many older HFC options but mild flammability that requires appropriate siting and trained service. TURBRO instructs users to have refrigerant work handled by professionals. No exact-product CPSC recall or FTC enforcement record was identified in the searched public sources. Titanium is documented for the heat exchanger, but chemistry limits and saltwater terms are not.

FibroPool FH270 Pool Heat Pump 70,000 BTU
#9

FibroPool FH270 Pool Heat Pump 70,000 BTU

Buyer Score 78/100Integrity Score 72/100FibroPool

Overview

This product is a fixed-speed outdoor electric pool heat pump intended for small above-ground pools and in-ground pools of up to 7,500 gallons. The manufacturer identifies the FH135 as a 120 V unit with a 35,000 BTU per hour nominal output, a 1.5-inch water connection, 16 ounces of R-410A refrigerant, and a titanium water-side heat exchanger. The supplied marketplace record is internally inconsistent. Its title describes a 70,000 BTU, 240 V FH270, while the model number, manufacturer page, and manufacturer manual identify the FH135 as a 35,000 BTU, 120 V product. The manufacturer publishes performance at 82 F air, 82 F water, and 82 percent relative humidity, plus a cooler 60 F air, 75 F water condition. A PSEG Long Island eligible-equipment list independently identifies the FH135 as a 35,000 BTU, 120 V heat pump with a 5.5 COP, but no exact-model AHRI certification record was located.

What works

  • The manufacturer provides unusually specific installation instructions, including a GFCI-protected 20 A outlet, wire sizing by run length, #8 AWG bonding, drainage, outdoor clearances, and plumbing direction.
  • The manual documents water-flow monitoring, high and low refrigerant-pressure fault handling, compressor-temperature monitoring, two freeze-protection states, and an automatic defrost function.
  • The titanium water-side heat exchanger is manufacturer-stated as saltwater compatible, with installation upstream of a salt cell or chlorinator and a check valve where backflow is possible.
  • A utility eligible-equipment list independently corroborates the FH135 identity as a 35,000 BTU, 120 V pool heat pump with a listed COP of 5.5.
  • The manufacturer publishes a 10-year prorated limited warranty and lifetime parts coverage for titanium coil tubing, subject to exclusions and qualified repair requirements.

What does not

  • The marketplace record conflates this 120 V, 35,000 BTU product with a 240 V, 70,000 BTU product. Buyers and installers need to verify the unit nameplate before selecting a circuit or sizing heating capacity.
  • No public exact-model AHRI certificate was located, so the published output and COP remain manufacturer-stated rather than independently certified to AHRI pool-heater conditions.
  • No public exact-model UL, ETL, or CSA listing record was located. The manufacturer cites CEC and RoHS, neither of which is a North American electrical and fire-safety listing.
  • Performance is explicitly weather-sensitive. The manual gives a COP of 4.01 at 60 F air and says performance below 60 F is extremely weak, despite a stated 45 F operating range.
  • The sealed system uses R-410A. It does not deplete ozone, but EPA identifies it as a refrigerant that contributes to climate change if released.

Who is it for

This product suits an owner of a relatively small pool, roughly up to the manufacturer-stated 7,500-gallon limit, in a warm and reasonably humid swimming season. It is particularly relevant where a correctly installed 120 V, 20 A GFCI-protected outdoor outlet and pool bonding are already available. The buyer should be prepared to use a qualified installer, maintain adequate water flow, keep the unit outdoors with clear airflow, and use a pool cover to reduce heat loss during initial warm-up and routine use.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to anyone relying on the marketplace title's 70,000 BTU or 240 V specifications. It is also a poor fit for larger pools, cool or dry climates, or buyers expecting strong shoulder-season heating below 60 F air temperature. Households without a correctly protected 120 V circuit, #8 AWG equipotential bonding, safe drainage, and code-compliant pool equipment should not treat the supplied plug as eliminating installation work. It also requires full winter draining where freezing is possible.

Integrity

The manufacturer documents useful operational protections, including a GFCI plug requirement, equipotential bonding, water-flow monitoring, high and low pressure fault handling, compressor-temperature monitoring, defrost control, and freeze-protection states. Its installation material calls for qualified installation, outdoor placement, drainage of condensate, airflow clearances, and plumbing after filtration but before chlorination equipment. These are meaningful safeguards, but an independently searchable UL, ETL, or CSA safety listing for this exact product was not located. The water path is manufacturer-stated to use titanium tubing and to be compatible with fresh or saltwater pools when installed upstream of a salt cell or chlorinator. Its R-410A charge is disclosed at 16 ounces. EPA notes that R-410A does not deplete ozone but can contribute to climate change if released, so sealed-system repair and refrigerant recovery should be handled by EPA-qualified technicians. No exact-product CPSC recall or FTC enforcement record was located in the public sources checked.

Vidapool 75,000 BTU Electric Pool Heater
#10

Vidapool 75,000 BTU Electric Pool Heater

Buyer Score 76/100Integrity Score 69/100Vidapool

Overview

This is an air-source electric pool heat pump for above-ground or in-ground pools. Vidapool states that it can heat and cool pools up to 21,000 gallons, deliver up to 75,000 BTU, use inverter control, and offer WiFi temperature scheduling. The company also lists 1.25-inch and 1.5-inch connection options, a 115V GFCI plug, and a footprint of about 42.5 by 15.4 by 27.4 inches. The key limitation is evidence quality. The 75,000 BTU, maximum COP of 12, 36 dB noise figure, 70 percent energy-saving claim, and pool-size guidance are manufacturer claims without disclosed test conditions. A public AHRI certified-performance record for this exact product was not located. Vidapool also claims ETL certification, but an exact product record and applicable safety standard were not independently located in a North American certification directory.

What works

  • Manufacturer states that the product heats and cools pools up to 21,000 gallons.
  • Manufacturer states that WiFi app control can adjust temperature and schedules remotely.
  • Published installation material describes a 115V GFCI plug, water-flow dependence, flexible hose and PVC connections, and specific airflow clearances.
  • Vidapool publishes a two-year warranty and a 90-day trial on its product page.

What does not

  • The advertised heating output, COP, electrical input, and noise figures do not include the test conditions needed to interpret real-world performance.
  • No public AHRI certified-performance listing for this exact product was located, so its capacity and efficiency remain unverified.
  • The claimed ETL certification could not be matched to an independently searchable listing record or safety standard for this exact product.
  • No published low-ambient performance table, operating-temperature limit, or defrost description was located.
  • The available product material does not identify refrigerant type or charge, saltwater compatibility, heat-exchanger material, replacement parts, or a service network.

Who is it for

This product suits an owner of a moderate-size above-ground or in-ground pool who has a compatible 115V GFCI outlet, adequate circulation, outdoor space for the stated airflow clearances, and a pool cover for colder conditions. It is most appropriate where heating is mainly needed in mild or warm weather and the owner accepts manufacturer-stated capacity and efficiency figures. The WiFi scheduling and supplied hose and PVC connection options may be useful for an owner who wants basic remote control and a simpler connection path.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to buyers who need independently certified output, COP, electrical safety documentation, or a confirmed safety listing before installation. It is also a poor fit for cold-climate or shoulder-season heating where low-ambient output and defrost performance matter, because those figures were not published. Saltwater-pool owners, households requiring documented corrosion compatibility, and anyone needing readily available parts or a named U.S. service network should seek written confirmation before relying on this product. A licensed installer should assess electrical and pool-code requirements.

Integrity

The available setup material describes a GFCI plug, required water circulation, and generous outdoor airflow clearances. Those are useful safety provisions, but the available documentation does not fully describe protections for high refrigerant pressure, overheating, freeze conditions, unsafe restart, or electrical faults. The manufacturer claims ETL certification, yet an independent listing record for the exact product was not located. Public CPSC recall searches did not identify a recall for this product or brand during this review. For energy use, inverter operation may reduce cycling once the target temperature is reached, but the claimed maximum COP of 12 and energy savings versus gas lack stated test conditions and independent certification. The manufacturer does not publish this product's refrigerant type, refrigerant charge, low-temperature capacity, defrost behavior, water-chemistry limits, or confirmed heat-exchanger material. A two-year manufacturer warranty is published, though a parts list, service manual, and authorized repair network were not located.

Naturaquell Pool Heat Pump 18,000 BTU
#11

Naturaquell Pool Heat Pump 18,000 BTU

Buyer Score 75/100Integrity Score 69/100NATURAQUELL

Overview

This is a compact electric air-source pool heat pump for above-ground or small in-ground pools. The product is listed at 18,000 BTU per hour for pools up to 5,200 gallons, with heating and cooling modes, 110 to 120 V power, WiFi control, and an on-unit touch panel. Its listed cabinet measures 16.65 by 15.35 by 17.21 inches and weighs 73.8 pounds. The output, pool-size guidance, COP of up to 4.1, titanium heat-exchanger claim, and claimed 45 percent energy savings are manufacturer-stated claims reproduced by retail-listing sources. No AHRI certified performance record for this product was located, so the stated BTU output and COP are not independently confirmed under the published pool-heat-pump rating conditions. No exact-product UL, ETL, or CSA listing record was located in the searched North American certification registers.

What works

  • Manufacturer-stated 18,000 BTU heating and cooling capacity is sized for pools up to 5,200 gallons.
  • The product is specified with a titanium heat exchanger, a useful corrosion-resistance feature for saltwater pool systems if the water chemistry stays within the maker's limits.
  • Manufacturer-stated WiFi and touch-panel controls can allow routine temperature and schedule changes without opening the equipment cabinet.
  • The stated COP of up to 4.1 is within the typical range AHRI describes for heat-pump pool heaters, although the exact rating conditions were not published.

What does not

  • No AHRI directory record was located for this exact product, so heating output, input power, and COP are not independently verified.
  • No UL, ETL, or CSA certification record was located for the exact product, leaving the electrical and fire-safety listing unconfirmed.
  • The available listing information does not provide rated amperage, required breaker size, disconnect, bonding instructions, clearance dimensions, or a complete installation manual.
  • The COP and 45 percent energy-saving claims do not state the air temperature, humidity, water temperature, flow, or electrical input used for testing.
  • No refrigerant type, refrigerant charge, low-temperature operating limit, defrost description, replacement-parts list, or full warranty terms were found.

Who is it for

This product suits an owner of a covered, small above-ground pool or compact in-ground pool that is genuinely at or below 5,200 gallons and already has compatible filtration flow. It fits a buyer seeking gradual seasonal temperature maintenance rather than rapid heat-up, and who values manufacturer-stated heating and cooling plus app control. Installation should be planned with a qualified pool or electrical professional who can verify the product nameplate, supply circuit, grounding and bonding, disconnect, GFCI requirements, water flow, and local permit rules before connection.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to pools above the stated 5,200-gallon limit, households expecting fast recovery from cold water, or cold-climate users needing documented low-ambient output and defrost capability. It is also unsuitable for anyone who cannot obtain the exact installation instructions and confirm a recognized North American electrical safety listing before installation. Avoid treating the supplied cord claim as proof that an ordinary outlet, extension lead, or existing pool circuit is adequate. Pool equipment wiring and bonding must meet the local authority's requirements.

Integrity

The searched CPSC recall resources did not return a recall for NATURAQUELL, Naturaquell Technology Limited, or the product model at the time checked. That is useful but limited, because an absence of a recall is not independent proof of electrical, pressure, or water-side safety. No exact-product listing was found in the searched UL, Intertek ETL, or CSA registers. A qualified installer should therefore inspect the nameplate and verify the listing mark and electrical requirements before energizing the product near a pool. A titanium heat exchanger is manufacturer-stated, which can improve resistance to saltwater and standard pool sanitizers. The maker's chemistry ranges, flow limits, and warranty exclusions were not found. The refrigerant type and charge were also not disclosed in the available product information, so its climate impact and service requirements cannot be assessed. Any sealed-system work should be performed by an EPA Section 608-qualified technician.